What’s luck got to do with it?

I want to start off with a story illustrating my luck, or lack thereof. About a month ago, I found out through CASANA’s website that I could ask the governor of our state for a proclamation for apraxia awareness day. I filled out the simple form online, and while both the governor’s website and CASANA’s director told me I might be too late, I gave it a shot. Earlier this week, I received a large envelope from Governor McCrory’s office. Hurray! It’s here! I tore into the envelope only to find…

[drum roll please]…

…a proclamation for emergency medical services week. Huh? Sure, I appreciate our EMTs and first responders, but seriously?! Three phone calls and an email to the governor’s office have gone unanswered. If there are any NC emergency medical personnel reading this, give me a shout and I will drop your proclamation in the mail!

I am not a person that was born lucky. We all know someone like that, right? Things just fall into place. Job opportunities fall into their laps without any effort; they forget about a test and don’t prepare and then ace it; trip over their own feet and land on a $50 bill. Things just always seem to go their way, no matter what they do (or, more likely, don’t do).

I am so not one of those people. I trip all the time and never have I found even a penny. Yes, I have many great blessings in my life: I was born into a good family, got a solid education, built a career, made many friends along the way and now have my own sweet little family of four. I never had to think about where my next meal would come from or where I would sleep for the night. But I did not take my blessings for granted, and I worked to make the most of them and more. I was not born a natural athlete, but I was a pretty competitive tennis player for most of my pre-teen and teen years. I excelled in school, but what my friends who just thought I was “smart” did not see was that I spent many hours studying, especially in college and law school, where I often felt insecure, unintellectual, less competent than my peers. My husband was not born lucky; he also worked incredibly hard to succeed in school and build a career that will provide for us. He works hard every day so that our lives can be a little easier. I know he doesn’t know how much we, and especially I, appreciate it (I’ll work on telling you more, apraxiadad!).

So, two unlucky people will probably raise two unlucky kids. The upside to being unlucky is that our kids will learn that many good things don’t just get handed to you in life, but require hard work, perseverance, dedication and strength. And, they will learn that many times, you just have to laugh. Maybe because it is genuinely funny. Maybe because you don’t know what else to do. Or, maybe because you have to laugh or you’d cry. Eli’s apraxia is a challenge for sure, but not one that cannot be overcome with hard work, and not the only challenge he will face in his life. It’s also one that will require lots of patience and support from his family, friends, teachers and community. And sometimes, we are all just going to have to laugh. It takes a village, and today, my village provided the happy(?) ending to my story that began this post.

Another NC apraxia mommy on the apraxia-kids Facebook group posted that the governor already proclaimed May 14 apraxia awareness day before I got to him. See below for the online and PDF versions of the proclamation. Now I just feel really bad for those emergency responders…

NC Proclamation

Update 2:37pm: Apparently I had asked the mayor for a proclamation too. I’ll grab the hard copy today, but here is a link to see it:

Raleigh Mayor Proclamation

Update 3:09pm: I got an email. The emergency services people have my proclamation. McCrory’s office will mail mine on Monday. Only a few days too late! Rolling my eyes…

Don’t forget: Tomorrow is the big day! I’ll be wearing my blue Team Eli shirt to support Eli and all kids fighting apraxia. #apraxiaawareness #apraxiaawarenessday

 

Leave a Reply

